Joseph Bohigian

Joseph Bohigian is a composer and performer whose cross-cultural experience as an Armenian-American is a defining message in his music. His work explores the expression of exile, cultural reunification, and identity maintenance in diaspora. Joseph’s works have been heard at the Oregon Bach Festival, June in Buffalo, Walt Disney Concert Hall, New Music on the Point Festival, TENOR Conference (Melbourne), and Aram Khachaturian Museum Hall performed by the Mivos Quartet, Decibel New Music, Great Noise Ensemble, Argus Quartet, Fresno Summer Orchestra Academy, and members of Yarn/Wire and featured on NPR’s Here and Now and The California Report.


Stone Dreams selected for performance at the Research on Contemporary Composition Conference at the University of North Georgia in Dahlonega, Georgia.

Joseph will attend the Composition and Sound Experimentation Workshop at Festival Mixtur in Barcelona in September 2020.

Joseph will be researching Armenian music at the Komitas Museum-Institute and the Komitas State Conservatory in Yerevan, Armenia for his dissertation composition during the 2019-2020 academic year.

Stone Dreams

performed by Ensemble Decipher


“Aylis is grey this time of year. Grey-colored mountains… Frozen stones, streets, houses hardly breathe in the cold awaiting the coming of spring. The Stone Church.”

“What was the reason, my God, that in Aylis, long-forgotten by you, your hills and your stones had come alive again?”


Please contact me if you have any questions about my work and purchasing scores or are interested in collaborating.

© 2020 Joseph Bohigian

  • Facebook
  • SoundCloud
  • YouTube